

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 05 November 2021 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill vacancies in the various Superior Courts. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 06 December 2021. On 27 January 2022, the Screening Committee of the JSC met and compiled a shortlist of candidates to be interviewed at its April sitting scheduled for 04 - 08 April 2022. The names of the candidates to be interviewed by the JSC at its April 2022 sitting are as follows:

1. Constitutional Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Alan Christopher Dodson SC Judge Fayeeza Kathree-Setiloane Judge Keoagile Elias Matojane Judge Mahube Betty Molemela Judge Owen Lloyd Rogers Judge David Nat Unterhalter

2. Competition Appeal Court (Three vacancies)

The JSC decided not to shortlist any candidate for this position.

3. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Gqeberha (Two vacancies)

Prof Rosaan Krüger Ms Sandiswa (Mickey) Mfenyana Mr Vinesh Naidu Ms Vuyokazi Pamella Noncembu Mr Mbulelo Victor Nqumse Adv Denzil Owen Potgieter SC

4. Free State Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Adv Josephus Johannes Francois Hefer SC Ms Cathy Luise Page Adv I Van Rhyn

 Gauteng Division of the High Court for Secondment to the Land Claims Court (One vacancy) Ms Luleka Flatela

- 6. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court (Judge President) Judge Mjabuliseni Isaac Madondo
- 7. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court, Pietermaritzburg (Three vacancies)
 Adv Elsje-Marié Bezuidenhout SC
 Adv Hoosen Sattar Gani SC
 Ms Narini Nirmala Hiralall
 Mr Burt Silverton Laing
 Prof Mbuzeni Johnson Mathenjwa
 Adv Robin George Mossop SC

Mr Linus Bhekizitha Phoswa

8. Limpopo Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv John Holland-Müter SC Adv Lesibana Gemine Philemon Ledwaba Adv Marisa Naudé-Odendaal Mr Vusumuzi Reuben Sinky Ngobe Nkosi Adv Thogomelani Coution Tshidada

9. North West Division of the High Court (Judge President)

Judge Ronald Deon Hendricks



The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the suitability or otherwise of these candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at <u>Chiloane@concourt.org.za</u> and <u>TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za</u>, <u>Cc:</u> <u>JSC@judiciary.org.za</u>. Comments for each candidate must be submitted on a separate page in both pdf and word version document. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than **28 February 2022**. No comments received after the closing date will be considered.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Adv D Mpofu SC 083 260 1433 or Ms D Tshepe 082 822 8599

