

REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA
Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, Johannesburg, 2107 Tel: +27 (0)11 838 2010 Fax: +27 (0)11 838 2025
14th Floor, Edura House, 41 Fox Street, Johannesburg, 2000

MEDIA RELEASE

29 January 2016

SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR ELECTORAL COMMISSION VACANCY

During the week of 12 October 2015, the Office of the Chief Justice published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill a vacancy in the Electoral Commission which occurred following the resignation of Ms Taljaard, a part-time Commissioner at the Electoral Commission. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 30 October 2015. On 28 January 2016, a Panel chaired by the Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, comprising of the Chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission, Chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality and the Public Protector, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed at its sitting to be held at a place still to be determined on 17 February 2016. The following candidates are on the short list:

- 1. Ms Lovetta Carline Bolters;
- 2. Ms Teresa Conradie;
- 3. Mr Lourens Johannes De Klerk;
- 4. Ms Isobel Elise Konyn;

- 5. Ms Janet Love;
- 6. Mr Sibusiso Armstrong Magwaza;
- 7. Dr Nomsa Praisy Masuku;
- 8. Mr Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi;
- 9. Mr Madibeng Chris Mokoditwa;
- 10. Dr Oupa Moshebi;
- 11. Mr Nkosikhulule Xhawulengweni Nyembezi;
- 12. Ms Leago Stella Takalani; and
- 13. Adv Johannes Collen Weapond.

The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the time and venue of the interviews in due course.

In recognition of the principles of transparency and openness, the Panel has resolved to allow any interested person to comment on the shortlisted candidates. It would be appreciated if such comments could reach the Office of the Chief Justice by no later than 10 February 2016.

The media and the public at large will also be allowed to attend the interviews.

The CV's of the shortlisted candidates can be found here: http://judiciary.org.za/iec.html

Ends.

Issued by the Office of the Chief Justice