

OFFICE OF THE CHIEF JUSTICE REPUBLIC OF SOUTH AFRICA

Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, Johannesburg, 2107 Tel: +27 (0)11 838 2010 Fax: +27 (0)11 838 2025 14th Floor, Edura House, 41 Fox Street, Johannesburg, 2000

MEDIA RELEASE

LIST OF CANDIDATES RECOMMENDED FOR ELECTORAL COMMISSION VACANCY

On 17 February 2016, a Panel chaired by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, comprising the Representatives of the South African Human Rights Commission, Commission for Gender Equality and the Public Protector, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, interviewed 12 candidates shortlisted for a single vacancy in the Electoral Commission. After a careful consideration of the candidates' background and performance in the interviews, the Panel agreed unanimously that the following 8 names be submitted to the Speaker of the National Assembly, as required by the Electoral Commission Act:

- 1. Ms Lovetta Carline Bolters;
- 2. Ms Teresa Conradie:
- 3. Prof Isobel Elise Konyn;
- 4. Ms Janet Love:
- 5. Ms Mamodupi Mohlala-Mulaudzi;

6. Mr Nkosikhulule Xhawulengweni Nyembezi;

7. Ms Leago Stella Takalani; and

8. Adv Johannes Collen Weapond.

Upon receipt of this list, a Committee comprising of representatives of all parties represented in the National Assembly will consider the names and identify a candidate to be appointed by the President.

Ends.

For enquires:

General enquiries: Mr Sello Chiloane, 011 838 2010, Chiloane@concourt.org.za

Issued by the Office of the Chief Justice

2