

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107 Tel: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard) E-mail: info@ judiciary.org.za www.judiciary.org.za

16 March 2022

Media release

SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION VACANCIES

During the period of 04 - 06 February 2022, the Office of the Chief Justice published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill one (1) vacancy in the Electoral Commission. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 18 February 2022 and later extended to 25 February 2022. On 07 March 2022, a Panel chaired by the Acting Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, comprising of the Public Protector, the Chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality and the Chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, met and compiled a shortlist of candidates to be interviewed at its sitting to be held on **01 April 2022**. The following candidates are on the shortlist:

- 1. Mr Justice Bekebeke
- 2. Adv Geraldene Carol Chaplog-Louw
- 3. Mr Edward Nkhangweleni Lambani
- 4. Ms Nalini Maharaj
- 5. Ms Keitumetsi Stella Mahlangu
- 6. Ms Princess Mangoma
- 7. Mr Vuma Glenton Mashinini
- 8. Dr Sithembile Nombali Mbete
- 9. Ms Bongiwe Mbomvu
- 10. Mr Sediko Daniel Rakolote
- 11. Mr Mfundo Wiseman Thango
- 12. Mr Gladwyn Martin White

2

In recognition of the principles of transparency and openness, the Panel has resolved to allow any interested person to comment on the suitability or otherwise of the candidates that have been placed on the shortlist.

All members of the public who wish to submit comments on the suitability or otherwise of the candidates are reminded to ensure the comments reach the Office of the Chief Justice by no later than **22 March 2022**. All comments and inquiries should be addressed to Ms Yvonne van Niekerk on <u>yvanniekerk@judiciary.org.za</u> alternatively Ms Kutlwano Moretlwe on <u>KMoretlwe@judiciary.org.za</u>, Tel no: (010) 493 2652.

Comments submitted after the closing date will not be considered by the Panel.

Ends.

Issued by the Secretariat of the Panel established to fill vacancies at the Electoral Commission.

2