

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 11 January 2017 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill 11 vacancies in the various Superior Courts including the Constitutional Court. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 03 February 2017. On 20 February 2017, the JSC met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed at its sitting to be held in Midrand, Johannesburg on 03-07 April 2017 as follows:

1. Constitutional Court (one vacancy)

Judge N J Kollapen Judge S A Majiedt Judge B H Mbha Judge L V Theron Judge M J D Wallis

- 2. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court (Judge President) (one vacancy) Judge M Makaula Judge Z M Nhlangulela Judge J E Smith
 - Judge D Van Zyl

3. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court (Mthatha) (one vacancy)

Ms S Jacobs Mr S L Mgxaji Ms L F Monakali Adv V Reddy

4. Electoral Court (One vacancy)

Mr T Bailey Ms S N Ndlovu Adv M P N Nkutha-Nkontwana

5. Labour Court (Two vacancies)

Adv R G Beaton SC Mrs W I Everett Ms D Mahosi Mr G N Moshoana Adv M P N Nkutha-Nkontwana

- 6. Mpumalanga Division of the High Court (Judge President) (One vacancy) Judge M F Legodi
- 7. Northern Cape Division of the High Court (Judge President) (One vacancy) Deputy Judge President L P Tlaletsi Judge C C Williams
- 8. Northern Cape Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy)

Judge M V Phatshoane Judge C C Williams

9. North-West Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy) Judge R D Hendricks Judge A M Kgoele

10. North-West Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Ms T J Djaje Ms M B Mahalelo

In total, the JSC has therefore shortlisted 30 candidates. The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at <u>Chiloane@concourt.org.za</u> alternatively <u>TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za</u>. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than 22 March 2017.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission Enq: Adv D Ntsebeza SC 0824672490 and Mr C P Fourie 0828811737