

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 31 May 2019 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill 17 vacancies in the various superior courts. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 28 June 2019. On 06 August 2019, the JSC met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed at its sitting to be held in Midrand, Johannesburg on 07 - 11 October 2019 as follows:

1. Electoral Court (One vacancy)

Ms Sheila Cheiramiwa Lushaba Mr Graehymme Jesus Williams

2. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Bhisho (One vacancy)

Adv Margaux Leigh Beard

Adv Phillip Horatius Sigqibo Zilwa SC

3. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Grahamstown (Two vacancies)

Adv Margaux Leigh Beard Ms Amelia Marisa Da Silva Adv Motilal Sunil Rugunanan

4. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Mthatha (One vacancy)

There were no suitable candidates that could be placed on the shortlist.

5. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Port Elizabeth (Two vacancies)

Adv Margaux Leigh Beard
Adv Nyameko Wellman Gqamana SC
Judge Bulelwa Myra Pakati
Adv Motilal Sunil Rugunanan



6. Free State Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Ms Nokuthula Sylvia Daniso

Ms Thiloshni Ramdeyal

Adv Ilse Van Rhyn

7. Gauteng Division of the High Court (Five vacancies)

Mr Dario Dosio

Adv John Holland-Müter

Adv Avrielle Maier-Frawley

Mr David Makhoba

Adv Moleboheng Mamorena Pascalina Mdalana-Mayisela

Ms Shanaaz Christine Mia

Mr Anthony Peter Millar

Adv Cassim Ismail Moosa

Mr Marcus Lekgaloa Senyatsi

Adv Rean Strydom SC

Dr Elmarie Van Der Schyff

Adv Brad Christopher Wanless SC

8. Limpopo Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy)

Judge Thifhelimbilu Phanuel Mudau

Judge Gerrit Cornelius Muller

Judge Arnoldus Mauritius Legodi Phatudi

Judge Moletje George Phatudi

9. North West Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy)

Judge Ronald Deon Hendricks

10. Western Cape Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Diane Margaret Davis SC

Adv Deidré Susan Kusevitsky

Adv Frederick Siegfried Gustav Sievers SC

Adv Hayley Maud Slingers

Mr Daniel Mafeleu Thulare



In total, the JSC has therefore shortlisted 36 candidates. The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the suitability or otherwise of these candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at Chiloane@concourt.org.za and TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za, Cc:USC@judiciary.org.za. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than **30 August 2019**.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Mr C P Fourie 082 881 1737

