

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107 Tel: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard)

E-mail: enquiries@judiciary.org.za

www.judiciary.org.za

13 May 2019

Media Advisory

Handing over of the name lists of Members of the National Assembly and Provincial

Legislatures to the Chief Justice

The Constitution of the Republic of South Africa enjoins the Chief Justice of the Republic of

South Africa, to establish the National Assembly following general elections.

The Chief Justice presides over the first sitting of the National Assembly to administer the oath

or solemn affirmation to members of the National Assembly in terms of section 48 read with

Schedule 2: 4(1) to the Constitution.

In line with these duties, Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng will on 15 May 2019 officially receive

from the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) the lists of designated members of

Parliament (MPs) and members of Provincial Legislatures (MPLs).

The Chief Justice will in turn hand over the National Assembly list to the Acting Secretary to

Parliament in preparation for the first sitting of the National Assembly. The Chief Justice will

also hand the lists of designated Provincial Legislatures to the Judges President who have

been designated by the Chief Justice to preside over the first sittings of the Provincial

Legislatures.

Media is invited to the ceremony to mark the IEC handover of the lists of designated MPs and

MPLs to the Chief Justice as follows:

Date: 15 May 2019

Time: 14h00

Place: The Constitutional Court of South Africa, Braamfontein, Johannesburg.

-Ends-

1

Media enquiries:

Mr. Nathi Mncube

Spokesperson of the RSA Judiciary

Cell: 0848148364

Email: NMncube@judiciary.org.za

Issued by the Office of the Chief Justice

