

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 15 November 2019 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill 14 vacancies in the various Superior Courts. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 13 December 2019. On 07 February 2020, the Screening Committee of the JSC met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed at its April sitting, scheduled for 20-24 April 2020. The names of the candidates to be interviewed by the JSC at its April 2020 sitting are as follows:

1. Constitutional Court (One vacancy)

Judge Nambitha Dambuza-Mayosi
Adv Alan Christopher Dodson SC
Judge Narandran Jody Kollapen
Judge Majake Meshack Mabesele
Judge Rammaka Steven Mathopo
Judge Mahube Betty Molemela
Judge Dhayanithie Pillay
Judge Bashier Vally

2. Electoral Court (Two vacancies)

For the position of a Judge of the Electoral Court, there were no Judges nominated for this position and therefore no candidates were shortlisted.

With regard to the position of the non-Judge member, the Screening Committee decided that this vacancy would not be dealt with at the JSC April 2020 sitting. Consequently no candidates were shortlisted for this position.



Gauteng Division of the High Court for Secondment to the Land Claims Court (Two vacancies)

Mr Meshack Pumelele Canca Judge Zeenat Carelse

4. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court for Secondment to the Land Claims Court (One vacancy)

Mr Muzikawukhelwana Thomas Ncube Judge Cassim Mahomed Sardiwalla

5. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court, Durban and Pietermaritzburg (Two vacancies)

Mr Bruce Stanley Michael Bedderson

Mr Poobalan Govindasamy

Ms Sharon Margaret Marks

Ms Lokwalo Rose Mogwera

Adv Ian Lesley Topping SC

6. Mpumalanga Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy)

Judge Anna Maleshane Kgoele Judge Segopotje Sheila Mphahlele

7. Mpumalanga Division of the High Court, Mbombela and Middelburg (Three vacancies)

Adv Heinrich Frederich Brauckmann

Mr Mpopelele Bruce Gilbert Langa

Adv Thandoluhle Moira Mankge

Adv Ntombizanele Elizabeth Ndlokovane

Mr Takalani Vincent Ratshibvumo

Adv Johannes Hendrickus Roelofse

Ms Lindiwe Dorothy Vukeya

8. North West Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Nicolaas Gerhardus Laubscher



In total, the JSC will interview 27 candidates. The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the suitability or otherwise of these candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at Chiloane@concourt.org.za and TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za, Cc:JSC@judiciary.org.za. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than 13 March 2020.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Mr C P Fourie 082 881 1737

