

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107 Tel: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard) E-mail: enquiries@judiciary.org.za

www.judiciary.org.za

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 04 June 2021 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill vacancies in the various Superior Courts. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 05 July 2021. On 11 August 2021, the Screening Committee of the JSC met and compiled a shortlist of candidates to be interviewed at its October sitting scheduled for 04 - 08 October 2021. The names of the candidates to be interviewed by the JSC at its October 2021 sitting are as follows:

1. Constitutional Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Alan Christopher Dodson SC

Judge Fayeeza Kathree-Setiloane

Judge Narandran Kollapen

Judge Rammaka Steven Mathopo

Judge Mahube Betty Molemela

Judge David Nat Unterhalter

Judge Bashier Vally

2. Competition Appeal Court (Judge President)

Judge Bhekisisa Jerome Mnguni

3. Competition Appeal Court (Two vacancies)

Judge Denise Carol Fisher

Judge Norman Michael Manoim

4. Electoral Court, Judge Member (Two vacancies)

Judge Jamela Joseph Mhlambi Judge Lebogang Temperance Modiba



5. Electoral Court, Non-Judge Member (Two vacancies)

Prof Nomthandazo Patience Ntlama- Makhanya

Ms Zaahira Moosa Allie Tiry

Ms Sungaree Pather

Prof Moses Retselisitsoe Phooko

6. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Mthatha (One vacancy)

Adv Nceba Kirby Dukada SC

Mr Mziwonke Samson Dunywa

Mr Mbulelo Victor Ngumse

Ms Lindiwe Rusi

Mr Buyiselo Irven Somacala

7. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court, Grahamstown (Three vacancies)

Adv Méchelle Beneke SC

Mr Mziwonke Samson Dunywa

Prof Avinash Govindjee

Mr Stephen Kenneth Gough

Mr Justin Gregory Alexander Laing

Ms Sandiswa (Mickey) Mfenyana

Mr Mbulelo Victor Nqumse

Adv Thandi Victoria Norman SC

Adv Nicholas John Mullins SC

Adv Olav Harald Ronaansen SC

Mr Buyiselo Irven Somacala

8. Free State Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

The JSC decided not to shortlist any candidate for this position.



9. Gauteng Division of the High Court (10 vacancies)

Ms Noluntu Nellisa Bam

Adv Allyson Ashley Crutchfield SC

Adv Daniel Petrus De Villiers SC

Mr Jabulani Ellington Dlamini

Mr Dario Dosio

Adv Harshila Khoosal Kooverjie SC

Adv Steven Kuny SC

Adv John Holland-Müter SC

Mr Mncedisi Patrick Khumalo

Adv Keitumetse Johanna Mogale

Mr Anthony Peter Millar

Adv Cassim Ismail Moosa

Adv Jabulani Selby Nyathi

Adv Jacobus Johannes Strijdom SC

Adv Jan Jacobus Clute Swanepoel

Adv Brad Christopher Wanless SC

Ms Livhuwani Betty Vuma

10. Gauteng Division of the High Court for secondment to the Land Claims Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Susannah Jane Cowen SC

11. Limpopo Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Ms Antolize Lamminga

Adv Marisa Naudé-Odendaal

Adv Thogomelani Coution Tshidada

12. Mpumalanga Division of the High Court, Mbombela & Middelburg (Two vacancies)

Adv Heinrich Frederich Braukmann

Adv Denise Greyling-Coetzer



Mr Mpopelele Bruce Gilbert Langa

Ms Antolize Lamminga

Mr Nhlanhla Snowy Masango

Mr Paul Doctor Nkuna

Adv Johannes Hendrickus Roelofse

13. Western Cape Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Ms Pearl Deidré Andrews

Dr James Dumisani Lekhuleni

Mr Daniel Mafeleu Thulare

Ms Constance Noluthando Nziweni

Adv Mohamed Salie SC

The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the suitability or otherwise of these candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at Chiloane@concourt.org.za and TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za, Cc: JSC@judiciary.org.za. Comments for each candidate must be submitted on a separate page in both pdf and word version document. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than 13 September 2021. No comments received after the closing date will be considered.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Adv D Mpofu 083 260 1433 and Ms D Tshepe 082 822 8599

