

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

The JSC has deemed it prudent to also republish the list of the candidates that were shortlisted for the April 2020 sitting which was postponed to April 2021. The need to republish this list is necessitated by the fact that some of the candidates that were shortlisted have since withdrawn their candidature, as well as for the sake of completeness. The below mentioned candidates who were shortlisted on 07 February 2020 and supposed to have been interviewed in April 2020 would also be interviewed at the JSC sitting scheduled for 12 to 23 April 2021.

1. Constitutional Court (One vacancy)

Adv Alan Christopher Dodson SC
Judge Narandran Jody Kollapen
Judge Rammaka Steven Mathopo
Judge Mahube Betty Molemela
Judge Dhayanithie Pillay
Judge Bashier Vally

2. Electoral Court (Two vacancies)

For the position of a Judge of the Electoral Court, there were no Judges nominated for this position and therefore no candidates were shortlisted.

With regard to the position of the non-Judge member, the Screening Committee decided that this vacancy would not be dealt with at the JSC April 2020 sitting. Consequently, no candidates were shortlisted for this position.

3. Gauteng Division of the High Court for Secondment to the Land Claims Court (Two vacancies)



The two candidates that were shortlisted for the two positions have withdrawn their candidatures.

4. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court for Secondment to the Land Claims Court (One vacancy)

Mr Muzikawukhelwana Thomas Ncube Judge Cassim Mahomed Sardiwalla

5. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Mr Bruce Stanley Michael Bedderson

Mr Poobalan Govindasamy

Ms Sharon Margaret Marks

Ms Lokwalo Rose Mogwera

Adv lan Lesley Topping SC

6. Mpumalanga Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President)

Judge Anna Maleshane Kgoele

Judge Segopotje Sheila Mphahlele

7. Mpumalanga Division of the High Court (Three vacancies)

Mr Heinrich Frederich Brauckmann

Mr Mpopelele Bruce Gilbert Langa

Adv Thandoluhle Moira Mankge

Adv Ntombizanele Elizabeth Ndlokovane

Mr Takalani Vincent Ratshibvumo

Adv Johannes Hendrickus Roelofse

Ms Lindiwe Dorothy Vukeya

8. North West Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Nicolaas Gerhardus Laubscher

Law bodies and members of the public have already been afforded the opportunity to comment on the suitability or otherwise of these candidates. Those comments have been received and circulated to the candidates.



The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Mr C P Fourie 082 881 1737

