

# JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 20 October 2020 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill vacancies in the various Superior Courts. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 27 November 2020. On 29 January 2021, the Screening Committee of the JSC met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed at its April sitting scheduled for 12-23 April 2021. The names of the candidates to be interviewed by the JSC at its April 2021 sitting are as follows:

# 1. Constitutional Court (One vacancy)

Adv Alan Christopher Dodson SC

Judge Fayeeza Kathree-Setiloane

Judge Narandran Kollapen

Judge Aubrey Phago Ledwaba

Judge Rammaka Steven Mathopo

Judge Yasmin Shehnaz Meer

Judge Mahube Betty Molemela

Judge Dhayanithie Pillay

Judge David Nat Unterhalter

Judge Bashier Vally

# 2. Supreme Court of Appeal (Five vacancies)

Judge Zeenat Carelse

Judge Johannes Willem Eksteen

Judge Trevor Richard Gorven

Judge Wendy Hughes

Judge Petrus Arnolus Koen

Judge Aubrey Phago Ledwaba

Judge Nolwazi Penelope Mabindla-Boqwana

Judge Keoagile Elias Matojane

Judge Selewe Peter Mothle

Judge Owen Lloyd Rogers

Judge Sharise Weiner

# 3. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court in Mthatha (One vacancy)

Adv Nceba Dukada SC

## 4. Free State Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President)

Judge Johannes Petrus Daffue

Judge Nobulawo Martha Mbhele

Judge Somaganthie Naidoo

## 5. Gauteng Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President)

Judge Roland Terence Sutherland

## 6. Gauteng Division of the High Court (Six vacancies)

Adv Allyson Ashley Crutchfield SC

Mr Dosio Dario

Adv Daniel Petrus De Villiers SC

Judge Nelisa Phiwokazi Mali

Adv Petrus Gcinumuzi Malindi SC

Mr Patrick Hasani Malungana

Mr Norman Michael Manoim

Mr Mandla Petrus Nathan Mbongwe

Mr Anthony Peter Millar

Adv Cassim Ismail Moosa

Mr Vuyo Thembile Mtati

Ms Mashudu Maryrose Munzhelele

Adv Portia Dipuo Phahlane

Adv Brad Christopher Wanless SC



#### 7. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court, Durban (One vacancy)

Adv Bruce Stanley Michael Bedderson

Mr Burt Silverston Laing

Adv Robin George Mossop SC

Mr Mfuniselwa Elijah Nkosi

Adv Carol Sibiya

## 8. Labour Court (One vacancy)

Adv Jacques Louis Basson

Mr Vusumuzi Reuben Sinky Ngobe Nkosi

Adv Maitu Tsungai Mathe Phahane

Adv Francois Johannes Van der Merwe

## 9. Limpopo Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President)

Judge Thifhelimbilu Phanuel Mudau

Judge Moletje George Phatudi

Judge Matsaro Violet Semenya

## 10. North West Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Mr Andrè Henry Peterson

Adv Frances Maria Magrietha Snyman SC

#### 11. Northern Cape Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President)

Judge Mmathebe Violet Phatshoane

#### 12. Northern Cape Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv Lawrence Gerald Lever SC

Adv Albert Punch Sibongile Nxumalo

Ms Janine Adéle Snyders

#### 13. Western Cape Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Mr Matthew Francis

Adv Bryan Cecil Hack

Mr Selwyn Hockey

Adv Penelope Magona-Dano



Adv Nobahle Mangcu-Lockwood

Adv Frederick Siegfried Gustav Sievers SC

Mr Daniel Malefu Thulare

The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in

due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the suitability or otherwise of

these candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service

Commission at Chiloane@concourt.org.za and TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za, Cc:

JSC@judiciary.org.za. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than **08 March** 

4

2021.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Mr C P Fourie 082 881 1737

