

# JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

This serves as a reminder to the Law Bodies and members of the public that the closing date for comments on the suitability or otherwise of candidates nominated for judicial vacancies is set for Monday, 29 August 2022. No comments received after the closing date will be considered.

On 16 May 2022 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill vacancies in the various Superior Courts including five vacancies in the Supreme Court of Appeal. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 17 June 2022. The screening Committee of the JSC met on 26 July 2022 and compiled a shortlist of candidates to be interviewed at its October sitting scheduled for 03 – 12 October 2022. The shortlist which was published on 28 July 2022 has been amended with one additional candidate nominated for the Supreme Court of Appeal. The names of the candidates to be interviewed by the JSC at its October 2022 sitting are as follows:

#### 1. Constitutional Court (One vacancy)

The JSC considered four nominations received for this vacancy and one of the candidates was not shortlisted. The JSC, in terms of Section 174(4) of the Constitution, must prepare a list of nominees with three names more than the number of appointments to be made. As a result, the JSC could not proceed to shortlist three candidates for one vacancy.

#### 2. Supreme Court of Appeal (Five vacancies)

Judge Anna Maleshane Kgoele Judge Glenn Graham Goosen Judge Petrus Arnolus Koen Judge Mandela Makaula

Judge Keoagile Elias Matojane

Judge Pieter Andries Meyer

Judge Daisy Sekao Molefe

Judge Sulet Potterill

Judge John Eldrid Smith

Judge Bashier Vally

Judge Sharise Erica Weiner

## 3. Competition Appeal Court (Judge President)

Judge Norman Manoim

## 4. Competition Appeal Court (Three vacancies)

The JSC decided not to shortlist any candidate for these vacancies.

## 5. Electoral Court (Chairperson)

Judge Baratang Constance Mocumie Judge Dumisani Zondi

## 6. Electoral Court (One vacancy – Judge member)

Judge Mpho Catherine Mamosebo

# 7. Gauteng Division of the High Court for Secondment to the Land Claims Court (One vacancy)

Ms Luleka Flatela

## 8. Gauteng Division of the High Court (Four vacancies)

Ms Rochelle Francis-Subbiah

Adv John Holland-Müter SC

Mr Mudunwazi Samuel Makamu

Mr Collen Kgaolo Matshitse

Adv Ntombizanele Elizabeth Ndlokovane

Adv Jan Jacobus Clute Swanepoel

Adv Sanet Van Aswegen

Adv Stuart David James Wilson



## 9. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court (Judge President)

Judge Mjabuliseni Isaac Madondo

Judge Thoba Portia Poyo-Dlwati

Judge Esther Johanna Sophia Steyn

#### 10. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court, Pietermaritzburg (Two vacancies)

Adv Elsje-Marié Bezuidenhout SC

Mr Meerchand Maharaj

Prof Mbuzeni Johnson Mathenjwa

Ms Nontuthuzelo Faith Mlaba

## 11. Limpopo Division of the High Court (Judge President)

Judge Maake Francis Kganyago

Judge Arnoldus Mauritius Legodi Phatudi

Judge Moletje George Phatudi

#### 12. North West Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President)

Judge Jeniffer Tebogo Djaje

#### 13. North West Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Ms Msongelwa Eulenda Mahlangu

Mr Collen Kgaolo Stephen Matshitse

Ms Lokwalo Rose Mogwera

#### 14. Western Cape Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Adv Alma De Wet

Ms Constance Noluthando Nziweni

Ms Mas-udah Pangarker

Adv Mohamed Salie SC



The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the suitability or otherwise of these candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at <a href="Months:KMoretlwe@judiciary.org.za">KMoretlwe@judiciary.org.za</a> and <a href="TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za">TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za</a>, <a href="Cc:JSC@judiciary.org.za">Cc:JSC@judiciary.org.za</a>. Comments for each candidate must be submitted on a separate page in both pdf and word version document. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than <a href="29">29</a> August <a href="2022">2022</a>. No comments received after the closing date will be considered.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission

Enq: Adv S Baloyi SC 083 631 5741 or Ms D Tshepe 082 822 8599

