

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107 **Tel:** +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard) **E-mail:** enquiries@judiciary.org.za www.judiciary.org.za

20 April 2022

Media Release

LIST OF NOMINATED CANDIDATES FOR THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION VACANCY

In February 2022, the Office of the Chief Justice published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill one (1) vacancy in the Electoral Commission. On 07 March 2022, a Panel, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, chaired by Chief Justice R M M Zondo, comprising of the Chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission, Adv B Majola, the Chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality, Ms T Mathebula, and the Public Protector, Adv B Mkhwebane met and compiled a shortlist of twelve (12) candidates to be interviewed.

In recognition of the principles of transparency and openness, the Panel invited any interested person to comment on the suitability or otherwise of the candidates that had been placed on the shortlist.

Interviews were held on 1 April 2022 at the Premier Hotel, Midrand. Three candidates withdrew their respective applications prior to the interviews and therefore nine (9) candidates were interviewed. The interviews were livestreamed on the Judiciary YouTube channel and the media and the public at large were allowed to attend the interviews.

Following the interviews, the Panel submitted the required list of eight (8) nominated persons to the Speaker of the National Assembly in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act. The following is the list of candidates in alphabetical order:



(a) Mr J Bekebeke

- (b) Adv G C Chaplog-Louw
- (c) Adv E N Lambani
- (d) Ms N Maharaj
- (e) Mr V G Mashinini
- (f) Dr T N Mbete
- (g) Ms B Mbomvu
- (h) Mr M W Thango

In terms of the Act, a committee of National Assembly considers the list and nominates a person from it to the National Assembly. That person is then recommended by the National Assembly by a majority resolution, for appointment by the President.

Ends.

Issued by the Secretariat of the Panel established to fill vacancies at the Electoral Commission.

