

188, 14th Read, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshaltown, 2107 Teh: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboerd) E-mail: info@ judiciary.org.za

www.judiciary.org.2a

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION

**MEDIA RELEASE** 

SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR THE POSITION OF CHAIRPERSON OF THE

WATER TRIBUNAL

This serves as a reminder to the Law Bodies and members of the public that the

closing date for comments on the suitability or otherwise of candidates nominated

for the position of Chairperson of the Water Tribunal is set for Monday, 29 August

2022. No comments received after the closing date will be considered.

On 22 and 24 May 2022 the Minister of Water and Sanitation, Mr S Mchunu MP, published

a notice in the Government Gazette and in national newspapers respectively calling for

nominations to fill, amongst others, the position of Chairperson of the Water Tribunal. The

closing date for nominations was set for 17 June 2022. According to the National Water

Act, 1998 the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) is empowered to receive nominations,

shortlist and interview suitable persons qualified in law; and make recommendations of at

least two such persons for the Minister to consider and to appoint as Chairperson of the

Tribunal. On 26 July 2022, the Screening Committee of the JSC met and compiled a shortlist

of candidates to be interviewed at its October sitting during the week of 03 to 12 October

**2022**. The following candidates are on the shortlist:

1. Adv Ntika Maake and

2. Ms Lahlane Hellen Malema

The candidates placed on the shortlist will be notified of the exact date and time for the

interviews in due course.

In recognition of the principles of transparency and openness, any interested person may comment on the suitability or otherwise of the candidates that have been placed on the shortlist. It would be appreciated if such comments could reach the Office of the Chief Justice by no later than **29 August 2022**. All comments should be addressed to Ms Kutlwano Moretlwe on <a href="mailto:KMoretlwe@judiciary.org.za">KMoretlwe@judiciary.org.za</a> and Ms Tebogo Phaahlamohlaka on <a href="mailto:TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za">TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za</a>, Cc: <a href="mailto:JSC@judiciary.org.za">JSC@judiciary.org.za</a>. Tel no: (010) 493 2687 / 2652

The media and the public at large will also be allowed to attend the interviews.

Ends.

**Issued by the Judicial Service Commission** 

Eng: Adv S Baloyi SC 083 631 5741 or Ms D Tshepe 082 822 8599