

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107 Tel: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard) E-mail: enquiries@judiciary.org.za

www.iudiciarv.org.za

18 June 2025

MEDIA RELEASE

SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR THREE ELECTORAL COMMISSION VACANCIES

During the week of 13 April 2025, the Office of the Chief Justice published a notice in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill three vacancies of members of the Electoral Commission. The deadline for the submission of nominations was 16 May 2025. Subsequent to requests for the extension of the closing date for the submission of nominations the Chief Justice resolved to extend the closing date from 16 May 2025 to 6 June 2025. On 17 June 2025, the Panel chaired by the Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa, comprising the Chairperson of the South African Human Rights Commission, Chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality and the Public Protector, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed.

The following candidates were shortlisted:

- 1. Judge D Pillay
- 2. Judge MI Madondo
- 3. Ms J Pitso
- 4. Dr RT Govender
- Mr G Abrahams
- 6. Adv GC Chaplog-Louw
- 7. Mr MS Moepya
- 8. Adv RK Sizani
- 9. Dr RL Martin
- 10. Mr NX Nyembezi
- 11. Ms J Liberty
- 12. Ms S Sigodi



The Panel has decided that the interviews for the three vacancies will be held on 21 and 22 July 2025. The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the exact time and venue for the interviews in due course.

In recognition of the principles of transparency and openness, the Panel has resolved to allow any interested person to comment on the suitability, or otherwise, of the candidates that have been placed on the shortlist. It would be appreciated if such comments could reach the Office of the Chief Justice by no later than 09 July 2025. All comments and enquiries should be addressed to Ms Mbali Songca on MSongca@judiciary.org.za and / or alternatively Ms Sanelisiwe Mthombeni on SMthombeni@judiciary.org.za and Ms Tebogo Phaahlamohlaka on TPhaahlamohlaka@judiciary.org.za. The telephone number that can be utilised for enquiries is (010) 492 2633/ 2575.

Ends.

Issued by the Secretariat of the Panel established to fill vacancies of the Electoral Commission

