

188, 14th Road, Noordwyk, Midrand, 1685 Private Bag X10, Marshalltown, 2107 Tel: +27 10 493 2500 (Switchboard) E-mail: info@ judiciary.org.za www.judiciary.org.za

02 July 2018

## **Media Advisory**

## LIST OF CANDIDATES NOMINATED BY THE PANEL ESTABLISHED TO FILL VACANCIES AT THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

On 25 and 26 June 2018, a Panel chaired by Chief Justice Mogoeng Mogoeng, comprising the Public Protector, Adv Mkhwebane, Deputy Chairperson of the Commission for Gender Equality Commissioner Mathebula and Commissioner Makwetla of the South African Human Rights Commission, established in terms of section 6 of the Electoral Commission Act, 1996, interviewed 23 candidates shortlisted for three vacancies at the Electoral Commission. After a careful assessment of the candidates in the interviews, the Panel agreed unanimously that the following 8 names be submitted to the Speaker of the National Assembly, as required by the Electoral Commission Act:

- 1. Rev Bongani Blessing Finca;
- 2. Ms Maletlatsa Monica Ledingwane;
- 3. Ms Nomonde Tantaswa Mapetla;
- 4. Dr Nomsa Praisy Masuku;
- 5. Mr Mosotho Simon Moepya;
- 6. Ms Bernedette Muthien;
- 7. Ms Liepollo Lebohang Watseba Pheko;
- 8. Judge Dhayanithie Pillay;

Upon receipt of this list, a Committee comprising of representatives of all parties represented in the National Assembly will consider the names and identify candidates to be appointed by the President.

Ends.

## Issued by the Office of the Chief Justice

