

JUDICIAL SERVICE COMMISSION SHORTLISTED CANDIDATES FOR JUDICIAL POSITIONS

On 21 July 2015, the Judicial Service Commission (JSC) published notices in the media calling for nominations of interested persons to fill 17 vacancies in the various superior courts. The closing date for submission of nominations was set for 11 August 2015. On 26 August 2015, the JSC met and compiled a short list of candidates to be interviewed at its sitting to be held in Cape Town on 05-09 October 2015 as follows:

 Eastern Cape Division of the High Court (Bhisho) (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy) Judge M Makaula

Judge S M Mbenenge Judge D Van Zyl

- 2. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court (Mthatha) (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy) Judge Z M Nhlangulela
- 3. Eastern Cape Division of the High Court (Port Elizabeth) (One vacancy) Adv R W N Brooks SC Adv E Crouse Adv M G Ndzondo
- 4. Free State Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv P U Fisher SC Ms N M Mbhele Mr J J Mhlambi Ms S C Mia Mr N W Phalatsi Adv L Le Pohl SC Adv C Reinders

5. Gauteng Division of the High Court (Six vacancies)

Judge A C Basson Ms C J Collis Adv N Davis SC Adv R M Keightley Ms N P Mali Mr P L C Maseti Mr M P N Mbongwe Ms L T Modiba Mr T P Mudau Adv R Strydom SC Mr M L Twala Adv W H G Van der Linde SC

6. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court (Deputy Judge President) (One vacancy)

Judge S Gyanda Judge G N Kruger Judge M I Madondo Judge S K Ndlovu Judge K Pillay

7. KwaZulu-Natal Division of the High Court (Two vacancies)

Adv P C Bezuidenhout SC Prof K Govender Ms S M Marks Adv G R Thatcher SC

8. Labour Court (Two vacancies)

Adv C Prinsloo Mr E Tlhotlhalemaje

9. Northern Cape Division of the High Court (One vacancy)

Adv S L Erasmus Adv L G Lever SC Ms M C Mamosebo

In total, the JSC has therefore shortlisted 40 candidates. The shortlisted candidates will be notified of the date, time and venue of the interviews in due course.

Law bodies and members of the public wishing to comment on the candidates should address their comments to the Secretariat of the Judicial Service Commission at <u>Chiloane@concourt.org.za</u> alternatively <u>Dube@concourt.org.za</u>. Comments must reach the Secretariat by no later than 21 September 2015.

Issued by the Judicial Service Commission Enq: Adv D Ntsebeza SC 0824672490 and Mr C P Fourie 0828811737 03 September 2015