The JSC is currently composed of the following members:

  • In terms of section 178(1)(a) of the Constitution, the Chief Justice of South Africa:
    Mr Justice MTR Mogoeng. He is the Chairperson of the JSC
  • In terms of section 178(1)(b), the President of the Supreme Court of Appeal:
    Madam Justice M M L Maya
  • In terms of section 178(1)(c), a Judge President:
    Ms M Leeuw
  • In terms of section 178(1)(d), the Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development:
    Mr R O Lamola
  • In terms of section 178(1)(e) two practicing advocates:
    Adv. D Mpofu SC 
    Adv. J Cane SC
  • In terms of section 178(1)(f), two practicing attorneys:
    Mr L B Sigogo 
    Mr C P Fourie
  • In terms of section 178(1)(g), a professor of law:
    Professor N Ntlama
  • In terms of section 178(1)(h), six persons designated by the National Assembly:
    Ms T R Modise 
    Ms G Breytenbach 
    Mr G Magwanishe 
    Mr J S Malema | Mr V C Xaba | Mr N Singh
  • In terms of section 178(1)(i), four permanent delegates to the National Council of Provinces:
    Ms S E Lucas 
    Mr T S C Dodovu 
    Mr K E Mmoiemang 
    Mr A J Nyambi
  • In terms of section 178(1)(j), four persons designated by the President: 
    Adv T Norman SC
    Adv L Nkosi-Thomas SC
    Adv T Masuku SC 
    Mr S Msomi 

Other stakeholders of the OCJ includes:

  • Magistracy
  • The Department of Justice and Constitutional Development;
    The National Prosecuting Authority;
    The Attorneys;
    The Advocates; and
    Legal Aid South Africa