In accordance with the SAJEI Act, the Institute is led by a Council consisting of the following members:

  • Chief Justice R M M Zondo: Chairperson
  • Deputy Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development: Hon. J. Jeffery
  • Judge of the Constitutional Court: Jafta C
  • Judicial Service Commission: Mr AJ Nyambi
  • President of the Supreme Court: Maya M
  • Judge President of the North West High Court: Leeuw M
  • Judge President of the Free State High Court: Musi C
  • Judge President of the Mpumalanga High Court: Legodi F
  • Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal: Dambuza N
  • Regional Court President, Western Cape: Mr B. Langa
  • Regional Magistrate: Mr D Mogotsi
  • Chief Magistrate, Mpumalanga: Ms T. Tonjeni
  • Chief Magistrate, Northern Cape: Mr O. Krieling
  • Retired Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal: Brand F
  • General Council of the Bar of South Africa: Advocate T Mafukidze
  • Law Society of South Africa: Mr N. Mvundlela
  • Executive Dean School of Law University of Fort Hare: Dr N. Lubisi
  • Executive Dean School of Law Nelson Mandela University: Prof A Govindjee
  • Prof L Teffo
  • Prof V Lawack
  • House of Traditional Leaders: Inkosi N Ngonyama


  • CEO SAJEI: Dr G. Moshoeu
  • DOJ&CD: Advocate JB Skhosana

In order to render effective and efficient oversight, the Council is supported by the following Committees:

  • Executive Committee
  • Curriculum Planning and Development Committee
  • Human Resource Committee
  • Budget and Finance Committee